10 comments on “Windows Phone and the Low-or-Nothing Dilemma

  1. I think the post generalizes a bit the current Windows Phone situation. Sure, numbers are low compared to iOS and Android. Sure, it’s much easier to find a job as iOS and Windows Phone developer. But I can count at least 5 people I know (including me) that have found a new and more rewarding job thanks to their Windows Phone knowledge and passion. Not to count all the opportunities I had in the latest 4 years and my personal and professional growth.
    So, for sure it’s not the most profitable platform on the market, but I don’t think that’s correct to say that knowing Windows Phone just “adds one more arrow to your quiver and for little”.

    Just my 2 cents of course 🙂

  2. What seems so sad is that companies may even like to have their app available for Windows Phone, but they don’t want to pay it much. Because–I guess–they don’t perceive the investment to be surely productive in some way. Adding Windows Phone skills can pay off for individuals; having apps doesn’t seem to pay off for companies. The overall level to me it seems to be that of professional hobbyists.

  3. I agree with Marco, my story proves the opposite :).
    There are lot of sw houses focused on ios/android but only a few on WP, and developing an app for WP takes about 4X less time and the result is 2X better, faster and smoother.
    As regards earnings, WP has about 5%, but that 5% spends A LOT more than android and ios users (and I know what I m saying 😉
    All people I know owning an iphone/android phone jailbroken it and download apps for free.
    No good for developers. WP was definitively the best choice for me and my company.

  4. I can count at least 5 people I know that have found a rewarding job thanks to [put your favorite niche job market skill] and passion.

    This should proof that even Matteo’s statement is generic enough. 🙂

    • Sure, everyone refers about his experience. What I don’t agree is telling that “since my experience with Windows Phone and companies is bad, so it will be bad for anyone”. As much as I don’t pretend to say that “since my experience is good, it will be good for everyone”. This is why I find the post “generic”: because, starting from a single experience, Dino makes a case on the Windows Phone development story. I know companies with the opposite Dino’s experience and that they’re actually living and making good profits with Windows Phone apps, but I’m not saying “hey, everyone starts doing Windows Phone apps, you’ll be rich in no time!”.
      If a complete stranger reads this post he will immediately think that developing for Windows Phone will be a waste of time. For many people, it isn’t at all, regardless if Windows Phone isn’t the top mobile platform in the market.

      • That is not what I read in this post from Dino. I read that being a third platform has clear disadvantages, the episode being one example. MS should do whatever possible to increase the market share, but IMHO is only wasting time. I strongly doubt, given the premises, that MS is in the mobile market to compete. A serious competitor would do many things differently and be extremely careful towards strategical mistakes.

  5. WP, especially from v8, is a good mobile platform, innovative and setting the reference for the future (iOS7 is introducing live tiles “inspired” by WP8). The Panorama and Pivot controls are attractive and move the user experience away from the classic desktop-oriented select and click pattern.
    Overall, it is easier to develop apps for WP8 and documentation and development environments are more solid than “the others” (at least in my experience).

    Said that, yes I agree that it is the 3rd platform, arrived too late in the market, it’s fighting with a decadent BlackBerry instead of competing with the top spots, and hence it’s in priority 3 of my mobile dev to-do list. Whether it’s worthwhile (financially speaking) creating apps for WP8, my answer is “it depends on your target audience”. WP is getting stronger in the enterprise. Consumers may not be attracted by WP (devices are too expensive or not represent a status symbol like the iPhone), but enterprises are attracted by its seamless integration with the Microsoft server world.

    I think there is and there should be room for a 3rd player in the mobile market. A market split between two competitors only is prone to “secret agreements” (we call it “inciucio” in Italian – http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/inciucio). What I’m convinced of, is that I – as a consumer and a developer – do not want more than 3 platforms to choose from. Sorry BlackBerry. And Tizen. And Ubuntu. We really don’t need you.

  6. It seems to me that Stefano got the point: WP is perceived by most companies as #3. This is a fact. Most companies find it hard and uncertain to invest their own (…) money on WP projects and consider that only after having out iOS and Android. Or tend to add WP to the first wave of releases for embarassingly low money. I’ve seen this happen regularly. Or at least I’m not so engaged to MS to get better customers 🙂

    At the same time, WP is pleasant to use and fast to write for. Which gives great chances to individual devs and small companies looking for their own space in the industry.

    Mine is not a battle against WP–I couldn’t care less of it. Also, I don’t know what else MS could do to make WP conquer the masses. It’s life, I’d say; but this doesn’t mean one should deny what’s before eyes and ears.

  7. Pingback: Windows Phone and WYWGOOIT | Two cents of software value

Leave a Reply

